Option Expiration Day

Today was the last day of trading for 2 of my 3 covered call positions. They both closed in-the-money so were nicely profitable trades.

They would have been much better if I had not tried to roll up, then down my options in EEE. That brainstorm cost me about 1/2 of my expected profit in the trade.

My original position in EEE would have returned 16% in 61 days if I had not messed it up. That is close to 96% annualized.

My position in CHINA returned 5.05% in 26 days. I like that kind of return for less than a month.

Since both positions will be called away, on Tuesday I will be researching new opportunities to put the cash to work.

One Response to “Option Expiration Day”

  1. Charles Says:

    Why do you let them be called away? Can’t you do a diagonal rollout (possibly down) or even a straight calendar rollout and prevent their being called? That would allow you to gather more premium without commissions on the stock. Or did you conclude that the IV had evaporated?


Leave a Reply

