Stock Market Falls! Stock Option Sold!

In my opinion, markets like this are especially hard on covered call writers. The covered call writing strategy works best in flat or slowly rising markets. Rapidly falling stock prices have the covered call writer replacing expired positions with lower strike prices, often below the original stock purchase price, trying to recover lost ground.

I did exactly that today, I wrote an August $12.50 call on my position in GIGM for $.45. I had originally purchased the stock in May for $14.54 and sold the July $15 call. The share price has been on a serious slide and is trading at about $11.40 today.

I still believe this company is an excellent prospect for growth and expect the shares to trade in the $18 to $20 range soon. (One year maybe!?). Now I want to earn some option income and try to avoid having it called away before a nice run up. Time will tell.

One Response to “Stock Market Falls! Stock Option Sold!”

  1. The Dividend Guy Says:

    Although I have not done much covered call writing myself, I understand the huge impact the market we had last week would have had on an a CC strategy. It sounds like you are pro actively managing it to reduce your downside. Good luck on your trade…

    TDG


Leave a Reply

