Bought back call on SLW

On July 31 I bought back the Aug $12.50 call I had sold on my position in Silver Wheaton SLW and sold a Sept $15 call. Today I bought the Sept call back for a dime plus commission.

The whole sell/buy/sell/buy ended up costing me $67.50 net loss on the options. The stock ran up to almost $15 in July and I did not want to have it called away. In fact it looks like my original sold call will finish out of the money.

I still own SLW and think the stock will do great over the next year. My lesson learned is it is probably better to let a stock be called away, then buy some back when the seemingly inevitable price pull back comes.

Leave a Reply

