Covered Call Thornburg Mortgage

If you have been following the hot stock stories this week, or visiting my other blog, you know Thornburg Mortgage TMA has been on a roller coaster. From being a $26 stock two weeks ago it dropped to as low as $7.50 earlier this week.

I am a long time holder of TMA in another account, but as the stock started falling I started buying. My purchase prices ranged from $22 down to $10.50, leaving me with an average cost of about $17. Today I sold the Oct $17.50 call for $1.10. If the stock is called away that will be a 24% return from today’s price.

I do not think this is a trade for the conservative covered call investor. I, however, have a strong belief that this company with thrive in the upcoming mortgage market so I am comfortable with this trade.

Leave a Reply

